Why I gave up on online arguments on politics.

by chaotarroo

A conversation between Billy and Willy. Billy is a fresh diploma graduate while Willy is an engineer facing competition from foreigners.

Willy: So Billy, what do you plan to do in life from now?

Billy: I don’t know. I just got my nursing diploma so I expect myself to work in a hospital or something.

Willy: Do you know that our health care industry is infested with pinoys?

Billy: Yeah, kind of.

Willy: And do you know that pinoys are cunning and immoral people?

Billy: Huh? How is that related? And I don’t think it’s nice to judge all of them just because a couple or rotten apples.

Willy: Don’t be gullible and grow up, they are evil like PRCs, all of them. We Singaporeans are the finest breed of all and noble blood flows through our veins. It’s all the PAPs fault for importing all these foreigners into our once peaceful country …

Billy: Woah woah, hold on a minute. I am not too familiar with this politics thing-y and will rather not discuss about it.

Willy: Are you saying you are politically apathetic? What a disgrace. Do you even know of ONE political party apart from the PAP? I bet you don’t, you shameful thing. It’s fence sitters like you that causes the outrageous property prices and COE somemore. We need to pressurize the PAP and show them our might when numbered so they will think twice before implementing policies. They even want to send our old folks to JB!

Billy: Willy, I think you need to relax …

Willy: Your country will soon be overwhelmed by foreigners and yet you don’t care? You must be one of those happy go lucky fellas that wastes your life drinking booze during weekends and running on transient hedonistic treadmills and not giving much thought for the future. The younger generation really is pathetic, my generation is the best!

Billy: I don’t actually drink beer and I think you got it all wrong. Besides, I do follow the GE while it’s happening and I am not very sure if the oppositions are ready to do the job.

Willy: Well, it doesn’t matter if they are. What matters is that the incumbent sucks and we want change. You must be thoroughly blinded and misled by the incumbent to think what you are thinking. Don’t be stupid and start to have a better and more objective view of Singapore. Do you even know what the word objective means? Everything that the media claims is covered with falsehood. Do you know that the SPH is ranked 154th under Press Freedom Index? Do not believe what you read on any local newspaper. You must visit websites such as TemasekReview or TheOnlineCitizen to receive a more objective view on Singapore. They are the true and objective voice of the people. Objective objective objective! You are blinded blinded blinded!

Billy: Alright. Right. Hmmm, Errr I guess that some of the opposition candidates do look competent for the job. But is the PAP really that bad? Didn’t our GDP still increase last year while our neighbours’ suffered.

Willy: What? The PAP isn’t bad? Are you joking? Everything they do or say is bad and evil! So what if the GDP increase? My boss still refuses to give me a promotion or salary increment and I still cannot get a girlfriend! Let me tell you, the incumbent is running our country like a corporation just so they can pay themselves even higher salary! Do you know that our PM is being paid 8times more than the Obama? How despicable! But I bet you didn’t know because you only read local newspapers. Do you even know who Ho Ching is? Wife of our PM la! It’s because of her that our country lost 500billion and it’s all our CPF money!

Billy: Actually I do know but … never mind. So are the oppositions really you know, cut out for the job?

Willy: Well, you never know unless you try voting them in do you? Lee Kwan Yew worked in a law firm before becoming our first PM.

Billy: Wait didn’t you dislike the PAP?

Willy: Let me finish can? The younger generation is just so rude! I am not trying to say he is good la, but then hor, aiya you know la. Anyway, ever heard of Chen Show Mao, candidate for WP? He’s a Rhodes Scholar! I am sure he’s more qualified for the job unlike our incompetent cabinet ministers.

Billy: Isn’t Raymond Lim, our Ex Minister of Transport, a Rhodes Scholar as well?

Willy: But he’s different! He’s with the PAP and therefore every thing he does is evil and not for the people!

Billy: Oh … Wow. Isn’t your argument a bit biased.

Willy: What!? Don’t be ignorant and blinded! What bias are you taking about? Just because I am more informed that you you think I am biased? Teenagers like you who know absolutely nothing about the deep and profound and severe subject of politics really should just keep your mouths shut.

Billy: I said I didn’t want to talk about this in the first pla…

Willy: But it’s fence sitters like you that makes Singapore a horrible place to live in! COE is already 70k and you don’t car…

Billy(interrupts): PAP is evil and doesn’t have our interests at heart.

Willy: Well done Billy!

Billy: Any opposition party is better off as our government.

Willy: Great! You are finally realizing the truth.

Billy: I hate the PAP and I love bigbrother WP.

Willy: You are a bright young man with a bright future ahead of you.

The end.

 

