another! <3

by chaotarroo

JOEL
See, I wouldn’t think that about you.

CLEMENTINE
(pissy)
Why wouldn’t you think that about me?

JOEL
Oh. I don’t know. I was just… I don’t
know. I was… You seemed nice, so ‐‐

CLEMENTINE
Now I’m nice? Don’t you know any other
adjectives? There’s careless and snotty
and overbearing and argumentative…
mumpish.

JOEL
Well, anyway… Sorry.

They sit in silence for a while.

CLEMENTINE
I just don’t think “nice” is a
particularly interesting thing to be.

The conductor enters the car.

CONDUCTOR
Tickets.

Joel hands the conductor his ticket. The conductor punches
it and hands it back.

CLEMENTINE
What is nice, anyway? I mean, besides an
adjective? I guess it can be an adverb,
sort of.

The conductor turns to Clementine. She fishes in her bag.

CLEMENTINE (CONT’D)
It doesn’t reveal anything. Nice is
pandering. Cowardly.

CLEMENTINE (CONT’D)
And life is more interesting than that.
Or should be. Jesus God, I hope it is…
someday.

(to conductor)
I know it’s here.

The conductor and Joel watch as she gets more agitated.

CLEMENTINE (CONT’D)
I don’t need nice. I don’t need myself
to be it and I don’t need anyone else to
be it at me.

JOEL
Okay.

