scripts ..

by chaotarroo

                                 SUMMER
                           (re: suit)
                       Where you coming from?

                                 TOM
                       What? Oh. Nowhere. How long have
                       you been sitting there?

                                 SUMMER
                       Awhile.

          Tom finds it hard to look at her.

                                                                   110.



                              SUMMER
                    I come here a lot. I always loved
                    this place, ever since you brought
                    me here.

          The mention of their past makes the atmosphere frosty.

                              TOM
                    So... I should probably say
                    congratulations.

                              SUMMER
                    Probably. But only if you mean it.

                              TOM
                    I don't know if I do honestly.

                              SUMMER
                    I understand.

                              TOM
                    Yeah well...anyway...I hope you're
                    happy.

                              SUMMER
                    You really do?

                                 TOM
                        (BEAT)
                    God no.

          They both laugh a little. The tension begins to dissipate.

                              SUMMER
                    How are you, Tom?

                              TOM
                    I'm good. Ish.

                              SUMMER
                    That's good.

                              TOM
                    Yeah I quit the office.

                               SUMMER
                    Really? That's great! What are you
                    doing now?

                              TOM
                    Mostly...sleeping. Breaking things.

          Awkward silence.

                                                                 111.



                              TOM
                    So who's the guy?

                              SUMMER
                    Who, my guy?

                              TOM
                    Yeah... Wait. Don't tell me. I
                    don't want to know.

                              SUMMER
                    Tom...

                              TOM
                    No really, I don't.

                              SUMMER
                    Ok.

          More awkward silence. This one goes on a beat longer. And
          THEN:

                              TOM
                    It's amazing to me. You're married.

                              SUMMER
                    I know.

                              TOM
                    You're not only someone's
                    girlfriend, your someone's wife!

                              SUMMER
                    Pretty crazy, huh?

                              TOM
                        (SIGHS)
                    I'll never understand that.

                              SUMMER
                    Tom --

                              TOM
                    What's different now? How could
                    things change so quickly?

                              SUMMER
                    I don't know. It just happened.

                              TOM
                    What happened?! That's what I don't
                    get.

                                                                 112.



                              SUMMER
                    I... Tom...

                              TOM
                    What, tell me...

                              SUMMER
                    I woke up one day and I knew.

          Tom says nothing.

                              SUMMER
                    I knew I could promise him I'd feel
                    the same way every morning. In a
                    way that I... I never could with
                    you.

          And there's not much else to say after that.

          Tom gets up to leave.

                              TOM
                    You know what sucks? Realizing that
                    everything you believe in is
                    complete bullshit.

                               SUMMER
                    What is?

                              TOM
                    Destiny, soulmates, true love. All
                    that stuff. It's nothing more than
                    silly childhood fairy tale
                    nonsense, isn't it? God!

                              SUMMER
                    Tom, don't go.

                              TOM
                    I should have listened to you,
                    Summer. You were right all along.

          Summer takes a beat to let this hang there.

                              SUMMER
                    I was right?

          And then, out of nowhere, she begins to hysterically laugh.

                              TOM
                    What? This is funny?

                                                                  113.



          Tries to stop but it only makes it worse. Now's she's
          completely cracking up.

                              TOM
                    What are you laughing at?

          And she can't stop. She's totally lost control.

                              TOM
                        (trying himself not to
                         LAUGH)
                    You're a crazy person!

                              SUMMER
                    Tom! You're the crazy person!

                              TOM
                    What are you talking about?!

                              SUMMER
                    One day I'm reading a book at the
                    corner deli and this guy sits down
                    and starts asking about it. Now
                    he's my husband!

                              TOM
                    This is funny to you?

                               SUMMER
                    What would have happened if I went
                    to the movies instead? If I went
                    somewhere else for lunch? If I
                    showed up to eat ten minutes later?
                    Tom, it was meant to be, just like
                    you said. And as it was happening,
                    I knew it. I could feel it, sure as
                    the sun. And I kept thinking to
                    myself "Holy shit. Tom was right."
                    You were right about all of it.
                        (BEAT)
                    It just wasn't me you were right
                    about.
